You have access to your Academy Settings through the Admin panel of your Academy. Simply select Admin from the upper navigation bar and then Academy Settings. Your online Academy has two different levels of settings: Basic Settings and Advanced Settings.
A. Basic Settings
The Academy wall is a place where users can post status updates and see news of their peers' activities. You can choose which members can see and post updates.
Here you can choose which users can create courses.
Groups are smaller communities within your Academy for collaboration, knowledge and content sharing around specific topics. Each group has its own visibility and access rules. 4. Library
Use your Content Library to store and share files and web resources across your organization. Create folders and set separately read and write permissions based on jobs and roles.
B. Advanced Settings
1. Academy Wall/News Feeds
You can have a Wall on schooX that can be used in different ways. You can use for example the wall as a communication means between employees only. In this case the wall will be visible only to employees. Or you can open up your wall to customers or member of schooX that follow your organization. You can further have control over who can view and who can post to your corporate wall. You may want for example to allow employees to view posts (by Admins) but not be able to post or comment. Or you can deactivate completely the wall. It's up to you.Apart from the posts that the members of an academy want to share, Schoox also generates some automated wall posts, when one of the following actions takes place:
|a course is published||course creator|
|an event is published||event creator|
|a group is published||group creator|
|a poll is published||poll creator|
|an academy member enrolls in a course||academy member|
|an academy member completes a course||academy member|
|a badge is awarded to a member||
academy member (that awarded the badge)
|a new friendship between members was created||academy member|
|a bookmark is saved in the academy library||bookmark creator|
If you do not want these auto-generated posts to be visible, just click on the relevant "Hide auto-generated posts" box.
2. Academy Courses
You can create courses to train your employees and or your customers. Those courses can be free or paid and the course creator can decide each course's visibility from the Course Administration Panel. Any member on schooX, employees of your company included, can create a group. But you can decide which group of your members can create courses for your Online Academy. Those groups can be either for corporate training and visible only to your employees or public courses and visible to everybody. The course creator decides who can see the course (e.g. employees, customers, followers, everybody). Courses visible to everybody appear also on the list of public course on schooX.
3. Academy Groups
Groups are a very powerful feature for content and knowledge sharing and collaboration. Each group has its own visibility and access rules. Any member on SchooX, employees of your company included, can create a group. But you can decide which members can create groups for your Academy. Those groups can be either for corporate knowledge sharing and collaboration and visible only to your employees or public groups and visible to everybody. The group creator decides who can see and join the group (e.g. employees, customers, everybody). Groups visible to everybody appear also on the list of public groups on Schoox.
4. Academy Badges
You can create badges that users can award to other employees and decide who can create and award corporate badges.
5. Academy Library
You can create categories and subcategories of content and set different access (read / write) rules for them based on roles and jobs. Imagine them like folders and subfolders. When users enter the library they will be able to see and store content based on their access rules. Your library has also a non editable category called Shared Content. This is the category where users can send content if they want to share it with other users of the Academy. You can set separately the rules about who will have read and write access for this category.
Note: The library is available only if you have an upgraded subscription plan.
6. Who can invite members
You can give your customers access to your Academy. However, they will only have access to certain courses and content based on your privacy rules.
7. Integration with 3rd party networks
If an Academy administrator has completed the Yammer integration, users in the Academy will have the ability to enable automatic sharing of their activities on Yammer, and also control which specific ones will be posted.
The first step is to connect* your Schoox account with your Yammer account by clicking on the corresponding button which will temporarily redirect you to Yammer. After successfully completing this step you will be returned to the same settings page and your Yammer network will be available in the second step for linking it with your Online Academy. The end result will look like this:
Take special notice of the last option (enabled by default) which essentially controls whether or not user activities will automatically be posted on the Yammer network's “All Company” group (which essentially serves as a public wall). Each Academy user will have the option to enable the automatic sharing of his/her activities and control which of the available ones will be posted on Yammer.
*Note: this does not mean that the two accounts will be merged (e.g. you won't be able to login to Schoox using Yammer – there is a separate procedure for that)
8. Integration with Google Analytics
Connect your Academy with your Google Analytics account.
9. Integration with Cisco - Webex
Connect your Academy with your Webex account and create live sessions10. Member Settings
You can edit the settings related to your Academy's members, such as About info, Knowledge profile, Certificates and other.
10. Mobile Access
You can choose here if your employees will be able to access their training via a mobile device, only if they are connected to a wi-fi connection.
You can control here if the additional time that the users spent on courses after their first completion will count anyway or just if the users are obliged to retake the course.
Related articles : How To Count Additional Time Spent On A Course After First Completion
12. Add Custom Attributes
You can add up to 10 fields of your preference as attributes for your employees. These fields can be viewed and edited in the Manage Members dashboard, by selecting "Edit User".
Moreover, you can add up to 10 custom fields/ attributes for your courses.
13. Members Intro Video
You have the option to show an Introduction video to your academy admins and/ or members.