You can create categories and subcategories of content for your Content Library and then control who reads and/or writes content by adding specific permissions. These permissions can be set per library category, based on jobs and your academy’s organizational structure. Simply put, you are able to create rules per user’s job in each category. When users enter the library they will be able to see and store content based on their access rules. Now let's check the process in more detail!
First, you will need to head to your Academy's library. To do so, just click on Library in the upper navigation bar. There are two types of categories: the Shared category which is a default category, and the categories that you can create.
Your library has a non-editable category called Shared Content. This is the category where users can send content if they want to share it with other users of the Academy.
This is a default category that cannot be deleted or edited. The rules about who will have read and write access for this category can be edited from the Content Library, similarly to the other categories (see below), or through the Academy Settings from an Admin.
Read more: Content Library Academy Settings
To edit the read and write permissions of a category, just click on the “small wrench” icon in front of the category's title. A set of functions will appear allowing you to:
1. Change Permissions,
2. Rename the Category,
3. Add a subcategory and
4. Delete the category.
By clicking the "Locker" icon, the following screen will be displayed allowing you to add or modify permissions for the category. Admins and Content Managers have access to all categories with no specific permissions required.
Give the permissions you want (read, write, or both) to Training Managers or All Employees by clicking on the relevant checkbox.
You can also choose specific jobs and give permissions to specific units and above units. To do so, click on the Add Job/ Unit Criteria option and select the desired job(s), above unit(s), and unit(s).
Finally, Save to update the category!
- You can click on "View selected" to easily filter only the selected values.
- A category presents the content of all its subcategories.
- If you delete a category, all content included will be moved to the Items in deleted category folder. In this category, each user is able to see the items that he/she uploaded and he/she has the option to either delete them permanently or move them to another category. Admins are able to see all of the deleted items within this folder.
- If you delete a subcategory, all content included will be listed in the parent category.