How Can I Manage My Course Categories?

You can control who has access to the courses in a category by adding specific permissions in your category. These permissions can be set per course category, based on jobs and your academy’s organizational structure. Simply put, you are able to create rules per user’s job in each category.

Here's the simple procedure you need to follow. First, hover over Training in the upper navigation bar and then select the Courses tab from the sub-menu to go to your Course Catalog. Then, select a course category and click on the “small wrench” icon in front of the category's title. A set of functions will appear allowing you to

1. Change Permissions,

2. Rename the Category,

3. Add a subcategory 

4. Delete the category.

          Screenshot_55.png

 

By clicking the "Locker" icon, the following screen will be displayed allowing you to add or modify permissions for the category. Admins and Training Managers have access to all categories with no specific permissions required.

course_cat_1.png

Give the permissions you want to Content Managers or All Employees by clicking on the relevant checkbox.

You can also choose specific jobs and give permissions to specific units and above units. To do so, click on the Add Job/ Unit Criteria option and select the desired job(s), above unit(s) and unit(s).

course_cat_2.png

Notes:

1. Click on "view selected" to easily filter only the selected values.

2. If you click on the "All" option one time, you will select all current and future items. By clicking twice on the "All" option, you will select all the current options allowing you to deselect some of the selected options if needed.

 

Finally, save to update the category!

 

Important Tips to Remember:

  • A category now presents the courses of all its subcategories.
  • The subcategory will inherit the permissions you have set for the main category only if the permissions were set to the main category prior to the creation of the subcategory.
  • If you delete a category, all courses included will be listed in the "Without Category" section under Categories.
  •  If you delete a subcategory, all courses included will be listed in the parent category.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful