We see solutions where others see problems

Help articles, set up guides, tips and resources to help you make the most of schoox
Follow

How to oblige your employees to retake a course

By default, students can take courses as often as they’d like. Schoox keeps track of the amount of time spent on each course, and whether or not the course has been completed. 

You are able, however, to require that specific students retake courses. You are then able to track each completion attempt separately. You have also the option to create automated reassignment rules.

Just navigate to your Admin tab from the upper navigation menu and select one of the available options that you have in order to oblige a user to retake a course:

  • Employees Dashboard
  • Oblige to Retake page

Employees Dashboard

To oblige a student to retake a course, navigate to your Admin tab from the upper navigation menu. From the left side menu, select Employees Dashboard under Reporting, and search for the employee.

Select the course you'd like them to retake and click the wrench icon.

Add_due_date.PNG

Click on the Oblige to Retake checkbox, add a due date (if needed) and hit Assign Now.

Assign_now.PNG

The student will then be notified that they need to retake the course, and they will no longer be able to see their previous progress. Moreover, the Due date field will be updated accordingly, based on the new assignment.

Reset_Course_Progress.PNG

You can check how many times someone has taken a course, by clicking the retake icon within the course. 

total_completions.PNG

Important note: You have the option to oblige users to retake the Course even if they have not yet completed it! Just follow the very same process (Click on the Oblige to Retake checkbox, add a due date if needed, hit Assign Now button) and their progress will be reset to 0%.

 

Oblige to Retake page

From the left side menu, select Oblige to Retake under Online Training, and click on the Courses tab.

obl_retake_course.PNG

First, you need to select the course that you want (you can find the course easier using the relevant search field). Once you have found it, click on the name of it to select it.

After the desired course is selected, it is time to select the users that you want to oblige to retake it. You have the option to select either specific employees (Individual retake) or a group of employees based on their job and location (Advanced retake).

Individual retake

You can find individuals easier using the search field and drop-down filter menus. In order to select an individual, simply click the Plus symbol next to his/her name in the left-hand column. The user will then appear in the right-hand Selected column. To remove an individual from the list, click the Minus symbol.

individual.PNG

Once you have selected the users that you want, add a new due date if you want to and click on the blue "Oblige to retake" button at the bottom of your page in order to complete the process.

Advanced retake

You can also select users based on their job and location. Moreover, you can create a reassignment rule to be applied automatically in the future.

Under Advanced retake, select the specific job to which this retake process should be applied. Then, select both the desired Above Units and Units in their respective columns, filtering using the drop-down menus, if needed.

Advanced_obl_to_retake.PNG

The number of individuals affected will appear below.

number.PNG

You have the choice of either to oblige this group to retake the selected course this one time, and/or setting up a rule that will automatically oblige individuals under these parameters to retake it in the future.

Check Automated reassignment rule to create a rule for this course. You can create automated reassignment rules in two ways:
1. Reassign every x months from course enrollment/completion

x_months.PNG

2. Reassign on specific date

Specific_date.PNG

Please note that you have the option to choose if you want to reassign the course only to users that have already completed it or to all enrolled users.

Add a due date and a message if you want to, and click the blue Reassign now and Set Rule button when finished.

due_date.PNG

Please note: If you create a re-assignment rule and set a specific due date (e.g. 10 days), this due date will be applied in every new re-assignment. 

Related articles : How to count additional time spent on a course after first completion

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Powered by Zendesk