Skip to main content


How to manage Course Equivalencies?

You, as an Admin, can now define the courses that are equivalent to each other. By using this feature, your academy members will be able to automatically complete all of the courses that are equivalent to the ones they have actually completed.
To set up your equivalencies, go to the Online Training tab of your administration panel and click on the Course Equivalent option.

Select the desired course and then click on the relevant checkbox for each of the equivalents.

Screenshot_7.png

Once you select the course you want to have as equivalent, you will see two options:

  • Bidirectional: You have the option to select if the equivalency should be bidirectional or not. As an example:
    • Case 1: Course A is equivalent to Course B and the "bidirectional" checkbox is selected. If the user is already enrolled in both courses then:
      • if they complete Course A (1st column of the screenshot above) will be marked as completed to Course B due to the equivalency.
      • if they complete Course B (2nd column of the screenshot above) will be marked as completed to Couse A due to the equivalency.
    • Case 2: Course A is equivalent to Course B and the "bidirectional" checkbox is unchecked. If the user is already enrolled in both courses then:
      • if they complete Course A (1st column of the screenshot above) will be marked as completed to Course B due to the equivalency.
      • if they complete Course B (2nd column of the screenshot above) will NOT be marked as completed to Course Α. Course Α will remain unaffected.
  • Automated assignment & Mark as completed: You have the option to select if the equivalency will automatically assign users who are not already enrolled in the equivalent courses. As an example:
    • Case 1: Course A is equivalent to Course B and the "Automated assignment & Mark as completed" checkbox is selected:
      • If the user is already enrolled in Course B, they will be marked as completed due to the equivalency.
      • If the user is not already enrolled in Course B, they will be assigned to Course B due to this setting and then will be marked as completed due to the equivalency.
    • Case 2: Course A is equivalent to Course B and the "Automated assignment & Mark as completed" checkbox is unchecked:
      • If the user is already enrolled in Course B, they will be marked as completed due to the equivalency.
      • If the user is not already enrolled in Course B, they will NOT be assigned to Course B and will NOT be marked as completed due to the equivalency. Course B will remain unaffected.

Once you Save your selection. the equivalent courses will be shown on the About page of the course and a new tab will be added as well, where the user will be able to see which courses are equivalent to the one that he/she takes. 

Please note:

  • You can add up to 10 equivalent courses per course.
  • Purchased courses cannot be used as equivalent courses.
  • On course completion, all of the equivalent courses are marked as "completed as equivalent" on the employees' dashboard, even if the course is completed "By Admin".
    Screenshot_98.png
  • This functionality doesn't work retroactively. In case a user had completed a course prior to setting up your equivalencies, the equivalent courses will not be marked as completed for him/her.
  • If you want to run a report in order to check the equivalency relationships that have been set up for your academy courses, try to export the "Courses Equivalent Report" using the Report Builder feature! (Read also: How to use the Report Builder?)
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful