How to manage my groups?

Groups have several functions available that will allow group members to collaborate and interact with each other. Let's check these functions in more detail!

Select Groups from the upper navigation menu, find the Group in question, and hit Manage Group.

Manage_groups.PNG

On the left side of the page, under Group Panel you can see all of the Group functions.

Screenshot_71.png

Wall: Share your messages, useful links, files, and/or images!

Screenshot_59.pngTips!

  • Group members have the option to schedule a group wall post to be published on a specified date!
  • The files and pictures that the users upload will be available to download by anyone viewing the post.

All discussions: Discussion boards will allow you to have conversations or gather feedback from the group members about specific topics.

Discussions.png

Content: Use the Group Library to store material relevant to your Group.

Group Members: Use the Group Members tab to view the members of your group, assign administrative permissions to other group members or award them a badge.

award_badge.PNG

Admins: Use the Admins tab to see the users who have administrative permissions to your group.

Edit Group: Use this tab if you want to edit the current settings of your group.

Edit Image: Use this tab if you want to upload an image for your group.

Polls: Use the Polls tab to create polls within your group and get feedback from the group members!

Group_polls.PNG

Note: Don't forget to publish your poll!

Send Invitations & Register Members: Add group members or invite them to join! For more details, please check the following article: How can I add members to a Group?

Edit Badges: You can create a new badge, edit an existing one or delete a badge that you do not need anymore. 

Please note that Admins have by default the option to create badges. They have also the option to decide if Training Managers should be able to create badges (under Advanced Academy Settings). Moreover, they have the option to give this permission (Create Badge) to specific Managerial jobs (such as to Unit Managers).

In order to create a new Badge for your Group just click on the Create Badge button at the top of the page.

Create_badge.png

Add a title for your badge, write a short description, upload an image and select a shape and/or icon for your badge.

Badge_Editor.png

Please note: Admins have an extra option available in order to make a badge awardable only by specific jobs.

Select the blue Save button at the bottom of the page to save your badge.

Notifications: You can configure your group notifications per group. 

When you first access this page on a group level, the default options for all notifications will be exactly the ones that you have configured on an academy level. That means, that the notifications will continue to be sent per the Academy settings, for the group in question.

If nothing is configured for a specific email notification on the Group page, you will see the following message “Currently, this email notification is being sent out based on your academy’s general notification settings. Any change in the following settings will only be applied for this specific group.”. This way you can distinguish which notifications are configured on a Group level for this Group and which are not.

Screenshot_72.png

Once a change is made on a notification on the group level, then any change made on the academy level for this notification will not be applied to the specific group. From that point, only the configuration options made on this notification on the group level will define how and if this notification will be sent for this group. In this case, you will see the following message "Currently, this email notification is being sent out based on the following settings, which are specific to this group.” which means that any changes made on the Academy level will not be applied for this notification on the Group level. 
Screenshot_73.png

At the bottom of each notification, there is a button available, the “Restore to Academy Settings” button. By clicking this button the email notification will be restored to the settings configured on the academy level. This way you can restore the notification back to the academy level. Once you do this, any changes made on the Academy level will also be applied for this notification on the Group level. 

Screenshot_74.png

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful