What will happen if I edit an existing auto-assignment rule?

Ιn Schoox, you can set rules for courses/curricula to be automatically assigned to users.

The procedure of creating Rules is described in the following article:

How can I set auto assignment rules?

These rules can be found in the Automated Rules under the  Administration Panel.

Automated.jpg

But how can we edit an existing Automated Rule for a Course or Curriculum?

Just find the automated rule in question, select the wrench icon and click on Edit.

Edit.jpg

The Edit button redirects you to the Advanced Assignment page where you can find the existing Rule and implement all the changes you wish.

ExistngRule.jpg

 

SetRule.jpg

Please note that when you save the new changes by setting the new Rule, the old Auto-Assignment Rule is erased, and depending on the changes you have applied, the users that got assigned through an older version of the rule, may be affected. More specifically,

  • Users that got assigned through an older version of the rule but still match the criteria of the current rule, will continue to be considered as part of the rule, thus honoring the setting “Unassign when criteria are not met anymore”.
  • If “Unassign when criteria are not met anymore” in the old version of the rule was checked: users that got assigned through an older version of the rule but don’t match the criteria of the current rule, will be instantly unassigned.

Below you'll find some more examples of changes that may affect your users!

Example

Rule Name

Rule Criteria

Result

#1

Rule v1

- Unassign checked

- AU A

User in Above Unit A was assigned via Rule v1. He isn’t going to be unassigned when he won’t meet the criteria (based on the new version of the rule)

Rule v2

- Unassign unchecked

- AU A

#2

Rule v1

- Unassign unchecked

- AU A

User in Above Unit A was assigned via Rule v1. He is going to be unassigned when he won’t meet the criteria anymore

Rule v2

- Unassign checked

- AU A

#3

Rule v1

- Unassign checked

- AU A

User in Above Unit A was assigned via Rule v1. He is going to be unassigned upon editing the rule to v2.

Rule v2

- Unassign unchecked

- AU B

#4

Rule v1

- Unassign unchecked

- AU A

User in Above Unit A was assigned via Rule v1. He isn’t going to be unassigned upon editing the rule to v2 but he will stop being considered as part of the rule.

Rule v2

- Unassign checked

- AU B

 

#5

 

Rule v1

- Unassign unchecked

- AU A, B, C

 

User in Above Unit B was assigned via Rule v1. He is going to be unassigned when he won’t meet the criteria anymore (Rule v#3).

 

Rule v2

- Unassign checked

- AU A, B

Rule v3

- Unassign checked

- AU A

 

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful